Researching Transhumanism

An open PhD project about transhumanism

Analysis

leave a comment »

What to do with this blog? I hardly have time to write anything anything, not to mention anything of any value. Then again, this is basically written for myself as a document etc. on my PhD project. So, I’ll try to do just that in the future.

Right now I am preparing to give a small talk at the annual Sociology Days in Turku, Finland. My workshop group is focused on the sociology of knowledge and I’ll be talking about how I see Touraines analysis of social movements in connection with science and technology. I’ll post the damn thing here in English once it’s done.

Meanwhile I have gathered a good collection of books and other readings. For instance, yesterday I found Robert C Bannister’s Sociology and Scientism – the American Quest for Objectivity, 1880-1940. I’m also enjoying Ruth Schwartz Cowan’s A Social History of American Technologyand the superb Thomas Kuhn – A Philosophical History for Our Times by Steve Fuller.

This Fuller chap I’m going to keep my eye on. After reading Humanity 2.0 and (his PhD) Social Epistemology (see, wiki and Journal founded by Fuller) I was deeply convinced.

My own research is now going in a simple straight line. I’m deep inside data analysis and familiarizing myself with 19th century thinking on science and technology. I’ll blog about the talk at the sociology day later this month on some initial ideas and results.

Written by Ilkka V

March 17, 2013 at 8:56 am

Posted in Fieldnotes, General sociology

Tagged with

Leave a comment